Golden Globe 2016 Predictions and Winners

It’s that time of the year again, what some people call it “The Road to Oscars”. Well one stop to the prestigious event is The Golden Globes. Now don’t get me wrong the Globes are quite prestigious themselves. That’s why I’m going to go ahead and make some predictions on this year’s Globes. Now after I watch the Globes I will update this blog to check whether if I got my predictions right or wrong.

Note: I will only put my predictions on categories I’m familiar with.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series – Drama

Nominees

best actor TV  Drama

Prediction: Wagner Moura – Narcos

The way I see it there are three strong contenders on this category. Oddly enough they’re 1st time nominees. I can see either Bob Odenkirk, Rami Malek or Wagner Moura winning. All three were fantastic on their shows but if I were to pick one it would be Wagner Moura from Narcos.

Like many, I binge watched his show on Netflix and he is great as Pablo Escobar. For me he’s the strongest nominee and I think he will take the Globe for said category.

Winner: Jon Hamm – Mad Men

 

Best Television Series – Drama

Nominees

Best Tv series Drama

Prediction: Mr. Robot

Ok I don’t watch Outlander nor Empire (even though I should). But I think this will be between Mr. Robot or Narcos. Both are amazing shows and this could either go one or the other. However, if I were to make a prediction it would be Mr Robot. The reason being, I felt this show is one of the strongest shows of 2015 and the writing was consistent all the way through, definitely one of my top TV Series therefore I hope Mr. Robot wins it.

Winner: Mr. Robot

 

Best Motion Picture – Animated

Nominees

best motion picture animated

Prediction: Inside Out

This is going to be a close one and the way I see it, It will be either Anomalisa or Inside Out. Both movies have touched it’s audience emotionally. For me however, I would have to pick Inside Out.

I picked Inside Out because it has a wider reach on it’s audience. Sure it’s marketed for children but there is a strong theme here about growing up that most adults can relate with. Even though Anomalisa is strongly for Adults it is also hard hitting, however it won’t be as recognized as Inside Out was and that’s why Inside Out will win it for me.

Winner – Inside Out

 

Best Screenplay – Motion Picture

Nominees

best screenplay

Prediction:
Aaron Sorkin – Steve Jobs

I’ve seen all of these films and looking at the nominees, it’s going to be a duel between Steve Jobs and The Hateful Eight. Both are great movies screenplay wise both are phenomenal. Notably, Aaron Sorkin is one of the best writer in Hollywood however, The Hateful Eight also had some amazing dialogue. Though I admire Quentin Tarantino’s script on The Hateful Eight, I would have to pick Aaron Sorkin

Winner: Aaron Sorkin – Steve Jobs

 

Best Director – Motion Picture

Nominees

best director

Prediction: Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu – The Revenant

This is a tough category as the movies that these talented directors did, were nothing short of amazing. However the stories I’ve heard about making of this particular film convinced me that this director should get the Golden Globe for this category. The director and the movie that I’m talking about is of course Alejandro G. Inarritu for The Revenant.

Now George Miller might win the Globe, which I have no quarrel with. But Alejandro G. Inarritu deserves the Globe for the way he made The Revenant. From filming on location only using natural light, to the jaw dropping action sequences. Not to mention to see Leonardo DiCaprio in such a vulnerable state. Alejandro G. Inarritu did an exceptional job on The Revenant that’s why he should win the Globe.

Winner: Alejandro G. Inarritu – The Revenant

 

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting role in any Motion Picture

Nominees

best actor supp role any motion

Prediction: Idris Elba – Beasts of No Nation

I haven’t seen Michael Shannon’s and Paul Dano’s performances on their respective movies. However, I have seen Creed, Bridge of Spies and Beasts of No Nation. Though Sylvester Stallone’s performance on Creed is beyond exceptional. I felt that the charismatic and hypnotic performance that Idris Elba did in Beasts of No Nation would win him the Golden Globe for said category.

Winner: Sylvester Stallone – Creed

 

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in any Motion Picture

Nominees

best supp actress

Prediction: Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight

Another tough pick as all five women displayed, a phenomenal job on their performances. If I had the choice to win, I would personally pick Alicia Vikander for Ex Machina, however I believe the Jennifer Jason Leigh’s performance in The Hateful Eight would win her the Golden Globe. That said, I would not be surprised if either Kate Winslet or Helen Mirren won the award.

Winner: Kate Winslet – Steve Jobs

 

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy

Nominees

best performance actor

Prediction: Steve Carell – The Big Short

It annoys me that they have two guys from the same movie in this category. That said, I think that either one or the other would win. I’m talking about Christian Bale and Steve Carell from the movie The Big Short. Now don’t get me wrong, I’d cheer if Matt Damon would win the Globe, however a strong gut feeling tells me that Steve Carell would win the award

Winner: Matt Damon – The Martian

 

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy

Nominees

best actress drama

Prediction:
Amy Schumer – Trainwreck

Ok first off, nothing against Melissa McCarthy but why is she in this category? Don’t get me wrong I saw Spy in the cinemas and it was a lot more funnier than expected but come on. Anyways, the fact that Jennifer Lawrence is in this category tells me that she might win this award, I mean she is great whenever she’s working with David O. Russell but to see Amy Schumer for Trainwreck here something tells me that she could pull a surprise win, that’s why I’m picking her.

Winner: Jennifer Lawrence – Joy

 

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture – Drama

Nominees

best performance actor drama

Prediction: Leonardo DiCaprio – The Revenant

Another tough category as all performances that these men did on their respective roles are of high caliber. Though if I have to pick a winner it would be Leonardo DiCaprio for his unbelievable performance on The Revenant. Eddie Redmayne maybe in high consideration but the fact that Leo, crawled through dirt and snow, slept in an animal carcass and ate raw bison liver and still gave an amazing performance, I can’t see anyone else winning this award.

Winner: Leonardo DiCaprio – The Revenant

 

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture – Drama

Nominees

best actress drama 1

Prediction: Brie Larson – Room

Great nominees, though for me there are two strong contenders for the award. Cate Blanchett in her role for Carol and Brie Larson for Room. I want Cate Blanchett to win this award, she’s incredibly charismatic in Carol and she does deliver an award winning performance. However, Brie Larson brought an extremely realistic performance in her movie and that tells me that she will take the Globe.

Winner: Brie Larson – Room

 

Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy

Nominees

best motion picture -comedy musical

Prediction: The Martian

Once again, I’m torn between two movies that I believe would win the award. The Big Short and The Martian, though both movies are great, I enjoyed The Martian more than I did The Big Short. Therefore my pick to win would be The Martian.

Winner: The Martian

 

Best Motion Picture – Drama

Nominees

best motion picture drama

Prediction:
Spotlight

I can already tell the Mad Max: Fury Road is probably one of the safest choice to win this award. And even if it did, I would have no problem with that, in fact I don’t have a problem with any of the movies winning it. These are great nominees, though there are other movies, I wish was considered for this award. I’m content with this list.

If I were to pick a winner however, and I really want this movie to win this award, mainly because it was a great film with great performances, it would be Spotlight.

Spotlight was such an eye opening film about a scandal that’s been going on for years and to watch a film that sheds some light on said scandal, it’s haunting and without a doubt unforgettable.

Winner: The Revenant

Edit: Well if you haven’t watched the Globes, it looked like The Revenant had a great night. Leo winning best actor, Alejandro winning best director and the film winning best motion picture. I was personally shocked it won but, I’m glad it wasn’t Mad Max.

Few shockers, some disappointing pick, the biggest one was Sam Smith winning for original song, as the song was pretty horrendous, yuck. Overall this was a decent Golden Globe some great jokes from Ricky Gervais, few bad jokes from other presenters and I could not be more happy for Denzel Washington for having the Cecil B. Demille award.

Leave a Reply

