Graphic Novel Review: Locke & Key Vol1, Welcome to Lovecraft by Joe Hill

This is my first time reading one of Joe Hill’s work. Although i do have NOS4A2 on my shelf I’m quite intimidated by the thickness of the book. Locke and Key on the other hand, looks like it should be a fun and easy read. That said, the moment I finished the 1st chapter, I closed the book and just gave myself a couple minutes of respite to understand what the hell did I just read. Simply said, I was absolutely blown away.

The 1st chapter is an emotional roller coaster, from heartbreak, excitement, to bone chilling cliffhangers. It will get you immediately hooked to reading the rest of the volume. The characters are extremely well written, from the protagonists to the antagonist each have a story to tell giving the readers a wide scope on seeing who these characters are. The artwork however is not as great as Marvel’s but with an extremely fascinating story and characters the artwork is the least of the reader’s worries.

To sum up, Joe Hill did an incredible job in this first volume, and it really sets up for the rest of the series and I have no doubt it will be just as good if not better as this first volume. Highly recommended to horror fans and for fans of the author.

Leave a Reply

